Rub a dub dub

I have decided to post bi-weekly, as it will keep me more focused on this project. Besides, my boyfriend tells me that any blogger worth her salt posts more than once a week. (“Once a week?” he said, raising his eyebrows at me. “Really? Only once a week?”) Whatever.

So here’s the deal: today, I’m going to focus on The Bathroom. According to the EPA, packaging constitutes about one third of all the waste that enters the “non-industrial solid waste stream.” And I know that an awful lot of the packaging that I use comes from cosmetics and personal care products. In short, my bathroom is busy being a very plastic waste heavy place.  I am considering buying shampoo and conditioner in bulk because buying bulk is a great way to reduce packaging waste. Having perused a variety of sites, I think my favorite is this one,  perhaps just because it is a little ridiculous to look at. (Or maybe I’m just jealous because the models pictured on the homepage are pretty much definitively cooler than I am). Regardless of whether or not I take the plunge and go bulk, though, there are plenty of other steps one can take to reduce plastic usage in the bathroom. One program to know about is Origins’ “Return to Origins” Recycling Program. They accept empty cosmetic and personal care product packages regardless of brand. I’ve been looking around for more info on how the containers are recycled, but so far reviews are really positive. I’m going to make a trip to Origins with a few empty bottles and tubes tomorrow.

I think that’s it for now.

Leave a Reply

