Setbacks.

Dear Reader,

I am afraid that I have had a few setbacks this week. I bought a take-out lunch on Wednesday and it came in not one but TWO plastic clamshells. Plus there was the plastic fork to boot. I stared at it for a while and felt guilty.

I feel that I have not made much headway in the last few days. This is frustrating, but perhaps not that surprising. I mentioned the ubiquity of plastics in my first post, and the last two weeks have only confirmed this for me in countless ways. Truly reducing my plastic usage in any meaningful and measurable way is not an easy project, and it’s going to take a little while. I still feel strongly that this is a project I want to pursue. According to Stop Trashing the Climate, a 2008 report published by the Institute for Local Self-Reliance, reducing the amount of waste we create is one of the best ways to lessen our impact on the earth’s climate. This is because landfills are a major source of methane entering the atmosphere. (And, as you may already know, methane is a far more potent greenhouse gas than is carbon dioxide.)

I want to continue working on this. I just need a little more structure and direction. I am going to keep researching environmentally-friendly alternatives for household items like my toothbrush and hairbrush. I purchased two Lunchbots and an Anchor Hocking glass storage container. I’ll keep you posted on any other plastic alternatives I come across that I like.

One thought on “Setbacks.

Leave a Reply

