The journey of a thousand miles continues…

Now that I am a few weeks into this project, it’s time to reevaluate. I have been taking my cloth bags with me, and storing food in glass or stainless steel containers; my replacement toothbrushes are made of bamboo and are compostable (these are the ones I have); and I have been buying less in general.

However, there is still a lot more that I could do to simplify. One thing that I think I could do is to avoid buying products packaged in plastic whenever possible. There is a group of people here in the Bay Area called “The Compacters” who have resolved to only buy what they absolutely need, and to buy used whenever possible. Although I think my philosophy is a little different in some ways than that of The Compacters, I certainly could take a page from their book. I think that this week, my project will to look for alternative ways to get products that I have traditionally bought in plastic packaging. To name a few: cheese, yogurt, dried fruit, roasted almonds, bread, toiletries, stationary supplies, and art supplies.

Many of the food items I might be able to find at the Farmers’ Market tomorrow. I suppose I could try baking my own bread. My loaves usually come out sort of lumpy and odd, but I might give this a shot and see how it goes. I could also likely buy cheese without plastic packaging if I spring for something a little nicer. I tend to make a beeline for the economy size (read: size of Western Europe) chunk of mild cheddar. But only when it’s on sale.

But yogurt is a tough one: I may try making my own, but I am a softy for the amazingly rich and creamy Greek-style yogurt that I find at the supermarket…in a plastic tub. Argh!

I’ll keep you posted.

 

Leave a Reply

