Fumbles

The last few days have been a little hard. I am struggling with how to find substitutes for some of the things that I really enjoy. My efforts to cut down on shopping backfired a little, and I bought a few things yesterday and today that I’m not sure I really needed. I want to cut down on my plastic usage, but at the same time I want to be able to relax and enjoy life. Part of the goal here is to have fun reducing my plastic usage in creative ways. I think I was trying so hard to use as little plastic as possible that I was beginning to resent it. That was how I came to find myself walking home with a (plastic) bag filled with sale clothing. And some new pastels. There was plastic packaging involved. Oh dear.

I know. I know. But I wanted to be honest about this because I think that this is a problem I have in terms of living more sustainably. I doubt that I’m the only one. How do we practice going with less without feeling resentful? How can I move from the “No, you can’t buy that because it’s bad for the environment” mindset to the “Yes, I choose to live in a more sustainable way because it makes me happy and it’s good for the planet” mindset?

I am not sure I know the answer to that question. I guess I want to find the balance between living for myself and living for the planet. Because both are important. This may seem like a dangerous thing for an environmentalist to say. However, I firmly believe that I am a better citizen of this planet when I am happy and balanced. It’s just true.

In other news, I finally made it out to Green11 here in San Francisco. And it rocks. So if you are in the area, check it out!

Leave a Reply

